Search for peptides and women and the results split into two kinds of page: a list of compounds with the word "female" added to the headline, and a warning that women should be cautious. Neither is built on female data, because in this corner of the field there is almost none. This page counts what is missing, reads the two studies that did set out to answer women-specific questions, and names the compound in this category with the best sex-specific human evidence — which turns out to be the cheapest one. It is research journalism about research compounds and contains no usage guidance, per our editorial standards.
The gap, measured
The under-representation of women in exercise science is not a talking point; it has been counted. James and colleagues analysed 972 original research articles with human participants published in 1991 and 2021 across the Journal of Applied Physiology, Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise and the British Journal of Sports Medicine — 2,984,883 participants and 5,735 authors in total. The average share of women participants per article rose from 21.9% in 1991 to 36.3% in 2021. Authorship moved the same way, from 16.4% to 30.9% women, and editorial boards from 13.3% to 41.5% (James et al., Journal of Applied Physiology 2023).
The detail that matters for anyone reading supplement research is where the remaining gap sits. In 2021, large datasets were close to balanced — 50.2% women — but "studies with smaller datasets (i.e., <∼3,000 participants) included less women (35.6 ± 30.6%)". Training studies, supplement crossovers and pharmacokinetic trials all live in that smaller-dataset band. The papers with balanced sex representation are epidemiological; the papers a supplement claim is built from are not.
A companion analysis in PLoS One tested what that costs. Navalta and colleagues took a national health dataset and re-drew it at the sample sizes typical of sport and exercise science — mean 187, median 20 participants — with an imbalanced 33.5% female allocation, and found that statistical decisions changed at both the mean and median sample sizes (Navalta et al., PLoS One 2023). The sex-data gap is not only a fairness problem. At the sample sizes this field actually uses, it changes what the studies conclude.
What the studies behind this field say about who was in them
We read the participant descriptions in the human studies cited across MuscleLedger's ledger pages. This is what they report.
| Study | Population as described | Sex reported? |
|---|---|---|
| Granhall et al. 2019 — oral semaglutide, first-in-human and multiple-dose | 135 healthy males; then 84 healthy males and 23 males with type 2 diabetes | Yes — all male |
| Shaw et al. 2017 — vitamin C-enriched gelatin and collagen synthesis | "Eight healthy male subjects" | Yes — all male |
| Veldhuis et al. 2007 — GHRP-2, GHRH and l-arginine under oestradiol clamp | Pre- and postmenopausal women | Yes — all female |
| Teichman et al. 2006 — CJC-1295 in healthy adults | "Healthy subjects, ages 21-61 yr" | Not stated in the abstract |
| Beck et al. 2014 — ipamorelin for postoperative ileus | 117 adults undergoing bowel resection | Not stated in the abstract |
| Liu et al. 2007 — growth hormone in the healthy elderly, 18 study populations | 220 participants, mean age 69, mean BMI 28 | Not stated in the abstract |
| Falutz et al. 2008 — tesamorelin, 52-week extension | 410 HIV patients with central fat accumulation | Not stated in the abstract |
Four of the seven do not state sex composition in the abstract at all. Of the three that do, two enrolled only men and the third only women. That is the evidence base underneath every "best peptides for women" list currently ranking.
The one study that asked
The exception is worth reading closely, because it is also the strongest sex-specific finding in the growth-hormone-secretagogue literature.
Veldhuis and colleagues at the Mayo Clinic compared growth-hormone secretion in pre- and postmenopausal women under a controlled oestradiol repletion protocol — that is, with oestradiol, testosterone and sex-hormone-binding globulin brought to comparable concentrations, so that menopausal status rather than circulating oestrogen was the variable. Across all secretagogues tested, including GHRP-2, "GH responses in POST subjects were only 26-33% of those in PRE", and postmenopausal women "lost the PRE order of secretagogue potency (GHRP-2 > GHRH = l-arginine)" (Veldhuis et al., JCEM 2007).
Two things follow. First, a threefold difference in hormonal response between two groups of women is larger than the effect size of almost any supplement in this field — which means "does it work in women" is not one question but several, sorted by hormonal status rather than by sex. Second, the ordering of the secretagogues themselves changed. The hierarchy that the marketing for these compounds is built on was measured in a population where it holds; in postmenopausal women it did not hold.
The one research compound with a female-only trial
There is exactly one, and it is not on any product page, because it is not for sale.
ACE-031 is a soluble form of activin receptor type IIB — a myostatin-pathway drug rather than a growth-hormone one. Its single ascending-dose study was conducted entirely in women: 48 healthy postmenopausal volunteers, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised 3:1. At day 29 in the highest-dose group, mean total body lean mass was up 3.3% by DXA (p = 0.03) and thigh muscle volume up 5.1% by MRI (p = 0.03), with adverse events limited in that study to injection-site erythema (Attie et al., Muscle & Nerve 2013).
Two things make this the most instructive entry on the page. It is the only place in this literature where a research compound was shown to increase muscle in women by direct imaging rather than by inference — and imaging is the endpoint our evidence ledger grades highest. And ACE-031 is not available: its development programme did not continue to approval and the compound is not marketed anywhere. The one female result worth having belongs to a drug nobody can buy, while the compounds that are sold have no female data whatever.
Neither BPC-157 nor TB-500 has a female-specific result. Nor does CJC-1295, ipamorelin, sermorelin, GHRP-2, GHRP-6 or IGF-1 LR3 — none of them has been tested for muscle in women, because none has been tested for muscle in anyone.
The compound that does have female data
Creatine is the outlier, and it is the one this site's evidence ledger scores highest.
The strongest recent evidence is female-specific and recent. A 2026 systematic review and meta-analysis in the Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition pooled seven randomised placebo-controlled trials in postmenopausal women — 608 randomised, median duration 38 weeks, mean age about 62. Lean mass favoured creatine by 0.37 kg (95% CI +0.05 to +0.69) across five trials, and leg-press one-repetition maximum by 7.5 kg (95% CI +2.2 to +12.8) across three. Benefits appeared where creatine was combined with resistance training; trials using low doses without training showed no measurable effect, bone density was unchanged overall, and adverse events were mild and similar to placebo (Naddafha et al., JISSN 2026). The reader should also know that the authors lead creatine-industry-funded organisations, which the paper discloses.
Note the size of it: 0.37 kg of lean mass over a median 38 weeks, with a confidence interval that nearly touches zero. That is the best female-specific muscle result in this entire field, and it is small — which is the honest benchmark against which every peptide claim aimed at women should be read.
Women carry roughly 70-80% lower endogenous creatine stores than men, which is a physiological reason to expect the response to differ (Smith-Ryan et al., Nutrients 2021, PMC7998865). The 2021 review covers pre-menopause, menses, pregnancy, post-partum and post-menopause separately, reports that supplementation "among pre-menopausal females appears to be effective for improving strength and exercise performance", and notes effects on skeletal muscle size and function in postmenopausal women at what it describes as high doses, with favourable bone effects when combined with resistance training. Two of its four authors disclose that they serve as scientific advisors to a creatine manufacturer, which is stated in the paper and belongs in any honest summary of it.
Against that, the largest meta-analysis of the older literature — 100 placebo-controlled studies, 163 body-composition outcomes — found the effect on body composition small in everyone (effect size 0.17) and reported "no evidence in the literature of an effect of gender or training status on effect size following creatine supplementation" (Branch, International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism 2003). Read together, the two papers say something unglamorous and useful: the effect is modest, it has been measured in women, and it does not appear to be smaller in them. MuscleLedger's comparison of creatine against the research compounds works through how far that evidence reaches.
What a female-specific guide would need to contain
Not a different compound list. A different set of studies — trials that report outcomes for women separately, that record menstrual-cycle phase or menopausal status, and that are powered to detect a difference within the female arm rather than pooling it. Exactly one such trial exists in this compound class and it belongs to ACE-031, a drug that is not on the market. For every compound a reader can actually obtain, our ledger's 1-out-of-5 scores reflect an absence of data rather than a demonstrated failure.
The banned-substance position, by contrast, is identical across sexes and worth stating plainly: the WADA Prohibited List does not vary by sex, and BPC-157 (S0), thymosin-beta-4 derivatives including TB-500 (S2.3) and the growth-hormone secretagogues (S2.2) are prohibited at all times for every athlete in a tested pool. Our page on peptides and drug testing covers which tests look for them.
What would change this page
Any randomised trial in women, in this compound class, with a muscle, strength or recovery endpoint. One would be a start. Until then, the most accurate thing a publication can tell a woman researching this category is which claims were measured in someone like her — and the answer, for the injectables, is none of them.
Sources and dates
- James et al., Journal of Applied Physiology 2023 — women's representation across 972 articles
- Navalta et al., PLoS One 2023 — consequences of under-representation and small samples
- Veldhuis et al., Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism 2007 — secretagogue responses under oestradiol clamp
- Attie et al., Muscle & Nerve 2013 — ACE-031 single ascending dose in 48 postmenopausal women
- Naddafha et al., Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition 2026 — creatine in postmenopausal women
- Smith-Ryan et al., Nutrients 2021 — creatine across the female lifespan (PMC7998865)
- Branch, IJSNEM 2003 — creatine meta-analysis, 100 studies
- Granhall et al., Clinical Pharmacokinetics 2019 — oral semaglutide first-in-human
- Shaw et al., American Journal of Clinical Nutrition 2017 (PMC5183725)
- Teichman et al., JCEM 2006 — CJC-1295 · Beck et al., Int J Colorectal Dis 2014 — ipamorelin · Liu et al., Annals of Internal Medicine 2007 — growth hormone in the healthy elderly · Falutz et al., AIDS 2008 — tesamorelin
- Participant descriptions read from the published abstracts on 2026-09-06. WADA 2026 Prohibited List, sections S0, S2.2, S2.3.