"Collagen for joints" draws about 6,800 searches a month, and the phrasing "collagen peptides for joint health" grew about 250% over the past year. The answers that rank give a confident dose and a timeline without naming a trial. This page is the trial ledger: every randomised trial we found of oral collagen with a joint-pain or joint-function outcome in active adults, the osteoarthritis evidence, who paid for the studies, and what the products on sale contain. It reports; it does not suggest a product or an amount (how we work).
Two different products
Before any result, the split that most pages blur: "collagen for joints" means two unrelated products.
| Hydrolysed collagen (collagen peptides) | Undenatured type II collagen (UC-II and similar) | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | collagen cut into short peptides, usually from bovine, porcine or fish skin | native, un-cut collagen from chicken sternum cartilage |
| Amount in trials | 5 to 10 g a day | about 40 mg a day |
| Proposed mechanism | supplies collagen fragments and amino acids | "oral tolerance": acts on immune tissue in the gut |
| Typical product | powders and drinks | small capsules |
A trial of one says nothing about the other. Collagen types, and why type II is sold in milligrams, are covered on types of collagen; the full list of collagen benefit claims is on the collagen peptides benefits index.
Trials in active people without joint disease
These enrolled people who exercise and have activity-related joint pain, not diagnosed osteoarthritis — the population most searchers are in. A PubMed search on 2026-10-14 for randomised trials of collagen or gelatin with a joint-pain or knee-pain outcome in athletes, healthy or physically active people returned 18 records; nine are trials of an oral collagen product in that population and are tabled here.
| Trial | People | Product, amount, length | Result | Industry link stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clark 2008, Penn State | 147 athletes, 97 analysed | hydrolysate, 10 g, 24 weeks | joint pain at rest (physician): −1.37 vs −0.90 points; other measures similar small gaps | not stated in the abstract record |
| Zdzieblik 2017, Freiburg | 139 athletes, knee pain | peptides, 5 g, 12 weeks | activity pain −19.5 vs −13.9 (p = 0.046); rest pain no difference | co-author at a collagen research institute |
| Bongers 2020, Radboud | 167 active adults, median age 63 | peptides, 10 g, 12 weeks | pain −1.6 vs −1.9 on placebo (p = 0.42); function and cartilage markers no difference | none stated |
| Zdzieblik 2021, Freiburg | young active adults, knee pain | peptides, 12 weeks | exercise pain −21.9 vs −15.6 mm (p = 0.024); rest and squat pain not different | lectures supported by GELITA declared |
| Kviatkovsky 2023, Florida State | active adults | peptides, 10 or 20 g, 6 months | daily-activity score improved on 10 g; pain improved only in those exercising >180 min a week | none reported |
| Schulze 2024 | adults with hip and knee discomfort | peptides, 5 g, 12 weeks | less pain at rest and walking (physician), stairs and kneeling (participant) | lectures supported by GELITA declared |
| 2021 HCII trial | 90 adults 40–65 | hydrolysed chicken type II, 8 weeks | WOMAC stiffness, physical function and total improved vs placebo | authors paid by the funder for analysis and writing |
| UC-II 2022 | 96 adults 20–55 | undenatured, 40 mg, 24 weeks | knee flexion +3.23° vs +0.21° (p = 0.025) | co-author from the ingredient maker's R&D |
| Möller 2026 | 74 healthy adults | undenatured, 40 mg, 180 days | both groups improved; collagen improved earlier, differences mainly in subgroups | authors employed by the ingredient maker |
What the ledger shows. Seven of the nine report some advantage for collagen, usually on activity pain rather than pain at rest, and usually by margins of a few points on a 100-point scale. The largest trial, and the one with no stated industry link, found nothing: pain fell by about the same amount on collagen and placebo. Six of the nine declare a link to a collagen ingredient maker or funder. None studied competitive athletes over a full season, and none ran longer than six months.
Pain scales move a lot on placebo in these trials — by 14 to 16 points on a 100-point scale in the two Freiburg trials, and more than on collagen in the Radboud one — which is why a trial without a placebo group cannot answer the question at all.
The osteoarthritis evidence
Most of the joint literature is in osteoarthritis, a different population: older, with diagnosed joint damage.
The glucosamine comparison. In 191 people with knee osteoarthritis randomised to 40 mg of UC-II, 1,500 mg glucosamine plus 1,200 mg chondroitin, or placebo for 180 days, UC-II lowered the total WOMAC score more than placebo (p = 0.002) and more than glucosamine plus chondroitin (p = 0.04), with no difference in safety outcomes (Lugo, Saiyed and Lane, Nutr J 2016, PMID 26822714). Two of the three authors were employees of InterHealth Nutraceuticals, then the maker of UC-II.
An independent null. At Prince of Songkla University, 68 people with knee osteoarthritis took tablets combining UC-II and hydrolysed collagen, or placebo, for 12 weeks. Both groups improved; there was no difference in pain, function, rescue painkiller use or satisfaction. The authors note that most earlier collagen trials were industry-sponsored (Yuenyongviwat et al., Sci Rep 2025, PMID 40897777).
What the pooled analyses say:
- A 2012 review of eight trials found the pooled WOMAC pain difference for hydrolysed collagen against placebo was −0.49 (95% CI −1.10 to 0.12) — a confidence interval that includes no effect — and no difference between undenatured collagen and glucosamine plus chondroitin; it called for "more independent high-quality studies" (Van Vijven et al., Osteoarthritis Cartilage 2012, PMID 22521757).
- A 2018 meta-analysis of 69 trials of 20 supplements found large short-term pain effects for collagen hydrolysate and clinically important medium-term effects for undenatured type II collagen — and no supplement with a clinically important effect at long-term follow-up, with overall evidence quality very low (Liu et al., Br J Sports Med 2018, PMID 29018060).
- A 2025 network meta-analysis of 23 trials, 21 supplements and 2,455 participants ranked undenatured type II collagen third and collagen fourth for WOMAC pain, behind passion fruit peel extract and methylsulfonylmethane (Chen et al., J Integr Med 2025, PMID 40425393). A ranking orders the options; it does not say any of them is large.
What was measured, and what was not
Every trial above measured pain scores, function questionnaires or range of motion. Some added a blood or urine marker of cartilage breakdown (CTX-II), which moved in a subgroup of one trial and not at all in the Radboud trial. None measured cartilage regrowth on imaging as a primary outcome with a positive result. "Rebuilds cartilage" is a mechanism claim, not a trial finding in people.
Collagen and peptides for tendon and ligament injury are a separate literature, mostly gelatin with vitamin C before exercise; it sits on peptides for joints and tendons and the tendon rows of how much collagen per day.
What labels carry
For undenatured type II collagen, the trial amount and the label amount match unusually well. In the US government's supplement label register (the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database), read on 2026-10-14, 36 labels from 27 brands list undenatured type II collagen with an amount:
| Amount per serving | Labels |
|---|---|
| 40 mg (the trial amount) | 29 |
| 10–20 mg | 5 |
| 50 mg | 2 |
Most list it as the branded UC-II ingredient. For hydrolysed collagen, powder servings and what the joint trials used are compared on how much collagen per day; the typical liquid serving holds about a third of a powder scoop (liquid collagen labels).
What this page cannot tell you
- Pain trials of a few months in people without joint disease cannot show what happens to a joint over years.
- Funding was read from each paper's abstract record; where a link is not stated there, the paper may still carry one in its full text.
- The label figures are the makers' own; nobody assayed these products for this page.
- Nothing here is a suggestion to take collagen for joint pain. Persistent joint pain, swelling or a joint injury needs a clinician's assessment; allergy and adverse-event reports for collagen are collected on collagen side effects.
Sources
- Clark KL, Sebastianelli W, Flechsenhar KR, et al. 24-week study on the use of collagen hydrolysate as a dietary supplement in athletes with activity-related joint pain. Curr Med Res Opin 2008;24(5):1485–96 — PMID 18416885
- Zdzieblik D, Oesser S, Gollhofer A, König D. Improvement of activity-related knee joint discomfort following supplementation of specific collagen peptides. Appl Physiol Nutr Metab 2017;42(6):588–95 — PMID 28177710
- Bongers CCWG, Ten Haaf DSM, Catoire M, et al. Effectiveness of collagen supplementation on pain scores in healthy individuals with self-reported knee pain: a randomized controlled trial. Appl Physiol Nutr Metab 2020 — PMID 31990581 · doi:10.1139/apnm-2019-0654
- Zdzieblik D, Brame J, Oesser S, Gollhofer A, König D. The influence of specific bioactive collagen peptides on knee joint discomfort in young physically active adults: a randomized controlled trial. Nutrients 2021 — PMID 33562729
- Kviatkovsky SA, Hickner RC, Cabre HE, Small SD, Ormsbee MJ. Collagen peptides supplementation improves function, pain, and physical and mental outcomes in active adults. J Int Soc Sports Nutr 2023 — PMID 37551682
- Schulze C, Schunck M, Zdzieblik D, Oesser S. Impact of specific bioactive collagen peptides on joint discomforts in the lower extremity during daily activities: a randomized controlled trial. Int J Environ Res Public Health 2024 — PMID 38928934
- A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial to evaluate the efficacy of a hydrolyzed chicken collagen type II supplement in alleviating joint discomfort. Nutrients 2021 — PMID 34371963
- UC-II undenatured type II collagen for knee joint flexibility: a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical study. J Integr Complement Med 2022 — PMID 35377244
- Möller I, Martínez K, Terradillos-Guillén A, et al. Efficacy and tolerability of native (undenatured) type II collagen supplementation for joint health in healthy volunteers. Nutr J 2026;25:46 — PMID 41787523 (NCT05282992)
- Lugo JP, Saiyed ZM, Lane NE. Efficacy and tolerability of an undenatured type II collagen supplement in modulating knee osteoarthritis symptoms. Nutr J 2016;15:14 — PMID 26822714
- Yuenyongviwat V, Anusitviwat C, Tuntarattanapong P, et al. Efficacy of combined undenatured type II collagen and hydrolysed collagen supplementation in knee osteoarthritis: a randomised controlled trial. Sci Rep 2025;15:32313 — PMID 40897777
- Van Vijven JP, Luijsterburg PA, Verhagen AP, et al. Symptomatic and chondroprotective treatment with collagen derivatives in osteoarthritis: a systematic review. Osteoarthritis Cartilage 2012;20(8):809–21 — PMID 22521757
- Liu X, Machado GC, Eyles JP, Ravi V, Hunter DJ. Dietary supplements for treating osteoarthritis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Br J Sports Med 2018;52(3):167–75 — PMID 29018060
- Chen CS, Wen L, Yang F, et al. Effects of dietary supplements on patients with osteoarthritis: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. J Integr Med 2025;23(4):357–69 — PMID 40425393
- PubMed search, randomised trials of collagen or gelatin with a joint-pain outcome in athletes, healthy or physically active people, run 2026-10-14 (18 records).
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database — API v9, labels mentioning undenatured collagen, read 2026-10-14 — dsld.od.nih.gov
