This site has already written about whether peptides can add muscle and lose fat at the same time. That is a question about recomposition, and it has an answer.
This page asks something narrower and, for anyone about to buy something, more useful: of the compounds actually sold under the phrase fat-loss peptide, how many have ever been registered for a human trial?
This is research journalism. It reports what the sources state, including the label indications and trial figures on the record, each carrying its source and date — and it never tells anyone what to take.
The census
Intervention searches of ClinicalTrials.gov, run on 13 September 2026, for the compounds that actually appear in this market:
| Compound | What it is sold as | Registrations | Trials that administer it |
|---|---|---|---|
| AOD-9604 | growth hormone fragment, "fat-burning without the growth" | 0 | none |
| 5-amino-1MQ | NNMT inhibitor, "unlocks fat cells" | 0 | none |
| Hexarelin | ghrelin agonist | 0 | none |
| MOTS-c | mitochondrial peptide, "metabolic" | 5 | 1 |
| Ipamorelin | ghrelin agonist, stacked for fat loss | 3 | 3 |
| Tesamorelin | GHRH analogue, the approved one | 24 | 24 |
| For scale: semaglutide | GLP-1 receptor agonist | 749 | 749 |
Roughly 32 registrations across the entire fat-loss peptide catalogue. Semaglutide, one drug, has 749.
Three of the six have never been registered for a human trial at all under their own names — including AOD-9604, which has been sold for fat loss for years and whose entire commercial story is a pharmacological claim.
The MOTS-c five, classified
MOTS-c is the newest entry and the one whose registry count looks respectable. Reading the five records disposes of four of them:
- NCT07505745 — phase 2, 120 adults with prediabetes and overweight or obesity, MOTS-c for insulin sensitivity. Recruiting. This is the real one.
- NCT04027712 — type 2 diabetics with coronary artery disease; MOTS-c is a measured biomarker alongside platelet reactivity and β-amyloid, not an intervention.
- NCT03878706 — a cardiovascular trial of a GLP-1 agonist and an SGLT2 inhibitor.
- NCT07678073 — a comparison of general versus combined spinal-epidural anaesthesia.
- NCT06133946 — a deafness-gene screening cohort of 35,920 people.
One trial. Its endpoint is insulin sensitivity, not fat mass, and it has not reported.
This is the fifth time in two weeks that classifying a registry or literature count on this site has changed the answer — after IGF-1 LR3's livestock literature, GHRP-6's forty keyword matches, the four unrelated hydrochloride salts in the creatine comparison search, and creatine kinase in the timing search. A raw count in this field is almost never the finding.
The one approved compound rules out the use
Tesamorelin holds 24 registrations and an FDA approval, which makes it the strongest thing in the category. Its label decides what that approval covers:
EGRIFTA SV is indicated for the reduction of excess abdominal fat in HIV-infected adult patients with lipodystrophy.
And immediately after, under Limitations of Use:
EGRIFTA SV is not indicated for weight loss management.
That sentence is on the label of the only approved peptide in this category, written by the regulator's process, ruling out the exact application the compound is borrowed for. The site's tesamorelin page covers what its pooled meta-analyses do show — a lean-mass effect of about 1.42 kg with a confidence interval of 1.13 to 1.71 and no heterogeneity — which is a muscle finding, not a slimming one.
Visceral fat redistribution in HIV-associated lipodystrophy is a real medical problem with a real drug for it. It is not the same condition as carrying more body fat than you want to.
The search volume on this term is the worst distortion this site has measured
Google Ads reports roughly 135,000 monthly US searches for peptides for fat loss. The clickstream-corrected figure is 559.
That is about 240 times inflated — the largest gap this site has recorded on any keyword, and worth stating on the page itself rather than only in the research file. The advertising tool pools a broad family of related and near-miss queries into one reported number; clickstream data counts searches that were observed happening. Both are legitimate measurements of different things, and quoting the first as an audience size is how a category gets described as enormous when it is not.
One other thing the clickstream data shows: the audience for this term is 94% female, the most female-skewed query this site has measured. Nearly every published article on fat-loss peptides is written for the market that sells them, and that market's imagery is not aimed at the people actually searching.
So what does the category consist of?
Stripped of the registry, what remains for most of these compounds is a mechanism story: AOD-9604 is the fragment of growth hormone said to carry the fat-metabolising activity without the growth-promoting part; 5-amino-1MQ inhibits an enzyme said to gate fat-cell metabolism; MOTS-c is a peptide encoded in mitochondrial DNA with metabolic effects in mice.
Every one of those statements can be true in a laboratory and still tell you nothing about what happens in a person. That is the whole lesson of this site's endurance page, where an entire supplement category traces to one 2008 paper in sedentary mice. A mechanism is a reason to run a trial. It is not a result.
What is actually supported, stated plainly
The drugs with the evidence for fat loss are the GLP-1 receptor agonists, and the gap is not close — 749 registrations for semaglutide against roughly 32 for this entire category.
This site's honest position on them is not an endorsement either. What those drugs cost in lean mass during rapid weight loss, and why that matters to anyone who trains, is set out on the recomposition page. The point here is only the comparison: one side of this question has been studied at enormous scale, and the other has three compounds that have never been registered for a trial.
The honest summary
The fat-loss peptide market is a different list of molecules from the muscle-peptide market, and it is thinner. Half of it has no registered human trial under its own name. The newest entrant has one real trial with a metabolic endpoint that has not reported. The only approved compound carries a label sentence excluding weight loss.
And the search demand behind the whole category, measured properly, is about 559 people a month in the United States — not the 135,000 the advertising tool reports.
The legal-supplement version of the same question is better studied but not by much: what happens to muscle when creatine is taken during a deliberate deficit rests on two randomised trials that reach opposite conclusions.
Limits of this page
Registry searches are by intervention name; a trial that registered a compound under a code name, a salt form or a combination product could be missed, which is why both spellings of AOD-9604 were checked. A registration count measures whether a question was asked, not whether a compound works — absence of trials is absence of evidence in the strict sense. The tesamorelin label text is the current openFDA record for EGRIFTA SV and labels change. No safety claim about any compound here is made or implied; this page counts trials.
Sources and dates
- ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, intervention searches for AOD-9604, AOD9604, 5-amino-1MQ, MOTS-c, hexarelin, ipamorelin, tesamorelin and semaglutide, all run 13 September 2026; the five MOTS-c records read individually.
- openFDA drug label API, EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin), Indications and Usage with Limitations of Use, retrieved 13 September 2026.
- DataForSEO keyword overview with clickstream data, US, for "peptides for fat loss", retrieved September 2026 — Google Ads 135,000 against clickstream 559, gender split 94% female.
- Tesamorelin's pooled lean-mass meta-analyses, as sourced on this site's tesamorelin page.
