MuscleLedger

Nutricost Creatine: Eight Products, a Label That Changed, and an NSF Facility That Is Not NSF Certification

Nutricost sells creatine monohydrate from $0.047 a gram on its own store, plus capsules, a Creapure version, an HCl powder and a women's blend. What the labels state and how they have changed, what the NSF wording covers, the California lead warning, and the arithmetic inside the 3 g women's scoop.

Leon H · Edited by Caroline S · Published 2026-09-28

Illustration: A scoop of white powder in a container on a concrete surface, lit by warm daylight.
Illustration

Nutricost is the third brand in this series by search demand — about 20,000 US searches a month for its creatine monohydrate and about 12,000 for the brand name with creatine — and the one sold most on price. The pages that rank for it are its own store, marketplaces and lists of picks.

This analysis reads what Nutricost publishes — its labels as filed in the NIH database, its store and its claims — against the certifier's register and the literature. It does not test the product and it does not place it against any other brand.

Eight products under one name

Nutricost's US store listed these creatine products on 2026-09-28, with the label figures from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements' Dietary Supplement Label Database where a label is filed:

Product Declared per serving What else is in it
Creatine Monohydrate Powder, unflavoured 5 g micronized creatine monohydrate, 1 scoop (label 319643, 2024) Nothing
Creatine Monohydrate Powder, flavoured (14 flavours listed) 5 g in a 7 g scoop (label 307782, Blue Raspberry, 2024) Malic acid, sucralose, natural flavours; blue spirulina for colour
Creatine Monohydrate Capsules 3 g in 4 capsules (750 mg each), per the store Not listed in the store description
Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) Powder 5 g Creapure Out of stock in both sizes on 2026-09-28
Creatine Monohydrate with Stevia 5 g Stevia, green apple flavour; out of stock
Stick Pack Variety 5 g per stick, 20 sticks Five flavours; out of stock
Creatine HCl Powder 750 mg creatine hydrochloride (CON-CRET), 300 servings —
Creatine for Women "3 g of creatine" (label 306204, Peach Mango, 2024) Folate, dandelion root, uva ursi and cranberry extracts

A pre-workout that contains creatine is also listed and is outside this analysis.

The core product is the same molecule every creatine brand sells: creatine monohydrate, about 88% creatine by mass (creatine HCl sets out the molecular weights). "Micronized" means ground finer; it changes how the powder mixes, not how much creatine a gram carries, and no particle size is printed (micronized creatine).

The label, over time

The NIH database holds 12 Nutricost creatine labels, entered between 2017 and 2024. Reading the oldest against the newest shows what has changed.

  • The raw material. The 2017 unflavoured label (77130) declares Creapure — the monohydrate made by AlzChem in Germany (Creapure explained) — and credits the trademark. The 2024 labels declare "Creatine Monohydrate, Micronized" and name no source.
  • The origin statement. 2017: "Made in the USA". 2024: "Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients." That wording is accurate for a product whose creatine is made abroad and packed in the US; it does not say where the creatine comes from.
  • Testing. The 2017 label carries no testing claim. The 2024 labels add "Third party tested" and a "GMP Compliant Facility" seal.
  • The address. Pleasant Grove, Utah in 2017; Vineyard, Utah on the 2024 labels and the store.

The Creapure version still has its own product page, at $42.97 for 500 g and $65.97 for 1 kg, and was out of stock in both sizes on 2026-09-28.

What a gram costs

Nutricost's own US store, list prices on 2026-09-28:

Product and size Price Creatine compound Per gram
Monohydrate powder, unflavoured, 300 g $18.97 300 g $0.063
Monohydrate powder, unflavoured, 500 g $23.97 500 g $0.048
Monohydrate powder, unflavoured, 1 kg $46.97 1,000 g $0.047
Monohydrate powder, flavoured, 500 g (71 × 5 g) $26.97 355 g $0.076
Capsules, 180 × 750 mg $18.97 135 g $0.141
Creapure powder, 500 g / 1 kg (out of stock) $42.97 / $65.97 500 / 1,000 g $0.086 / $0.066
Creatine HCl powder, 300 × 750 mg $52.97 225 g of HCl (≈176 g creatine) $0.235 per g of HCl
Creatine for Women, unflavoured, 50 servings $18.97 ≈128 g of creatine (see below) ≈ $0.148 per g of creatine

Three points follow from the arithmetic. The unflavoured 500 g and 1 kg tubs cost almost the same per gram, so the larger tub saves very little. The flavoured tub costs about 60% more per gram of creatine than the unflavoured one, because 2 g of each 7 g scoop is flavouring. And the HCl powder costs about five times as much per gram of creatine as the unflavoured monohydrate, for a form that has not been shown to raise muscle creatine more (types of creatine).

The 300 g flavoured tubs are left without a per-gram figure because their serving count was not stated on the pages read. Format trade-offs in general are on creatine pills vs powder.

Who checked it

NSF Certified for Sport: not listed. NSF's public register, downloaded in full on 2026-09-28, contains no Nutricost product. As a check that the download was complete, Thorne and Optimum Nutrition listings appear in the same file.

What the store's "NSF" wording means. Several product descriptions say the creatine is made in an "NSF certified, GMP compliant facility." That describes the factory. NSF's own page on its sport mark lists four things Certified for Sport verifies: that the product contains none of 290 substances banned by major athletic organisations, that the contents match the label, that there are no unsafe levels of contaminants — and, fourth, that the product is made in a GMP-certified facility audited once or twice a year. A certified facility is one of those four. The other three are tests of the product itself, and the facility wording does not say they were done.

"Third party tested." The 2024 labels say so, and the stevia product's description adds testing "by independent ISO-accredited laboratories" to confirm potency. No certificate of analysis, laboratory name or lot result was published on the product pages read for this analysis, so the claim is reported as the brand's statement, not as a verified result. What third-party certification does and does not cover is set out on creatine gummies, where the label-versus-content problem is documented.

The California warning

The monohydrate powder's product page — one description shared across all its flavours and sizes — carries a California Proposition 65 warning that consuming the product can cause exposure to chemicals including lead, known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm.

What this does and does not tell a reader:

  • It is a legal notice, required when a business cannot rule out exposure above a level the state sets. Companies often attach it to a whole product line as a precaution.
  • It is not a test result. The page states no amount of lead per serving, and no lot data are published that would let one be calculated.
  • Lead occurs at trace levels in many foods and minerals. Whether a given tub contains any, and how much, is exactly what a published certificate of analysis — or NSF's contaminant testing, which is not on the register for this brand — would show.

Creatine for Women, ingredient by ingredient

The label declares "3 g creatine per serving". The ingredient list shows how that 3 g is made up: 2.25 g creatine monohydrate and 750 mg creatine hydrochloride (CON-CRET), plus 400 mcg folate and 80 mg each of dandelion root and uva ursi leaf extracts and 20 mg of cranberry extract.

Converted on molecular weights, 2.25 g of monohydrate carries about 1.98 g of creatine and 750 mg of the hydrochloride about 0.59 g. The serving holds about 2.6 g of creatine — a little under the 3 g on the front, because the 3 g counts the salts, not the creatine inside them. The trials behind the amounts women are studied at are on creatine for women.

Two scoops or one

The 2024 Blue Raspberry label, as filed in the NIH database, describes a loading phase of one scoop four times a day for five days, then, for maintenance, "Mix 2 scoop with 6-10 oz of water and take once daily" — two 7 g scoops, 10 g of creatine monohydrate. The 2024 unflavoured label describes the same loading phase and one scoop for maintenance. The difference is printed as filed; whether it is a deliberate direction or a label error is not stated anywhere read for this analysis. The trial literature's maintenance amounts are on how much creatine should I take.

What the store's own statements say, checked

  • "Ultra premium quality … at a fraction of the cost." The cost is checkable and is set out above. "Premium quality" has no published test behind it on the pages read.
  • "Guaranteed quality and purity" (capsules). No purity figure is published.
  • "Non-GMO, gluten free, vegetarian." The unflavoured and flavoured powders are declared vegetarian on the label; the capsule shell material is not stated in the store description. Creatine itself is made synthetically (creatine for vegetarians and vegans).
  • Age and pregnancy. The labels state the product is for healthy individuals 18 and older and direct pregnant or nursing people to a healthcare professional. The evidence on those groups is on creatine for teens and creatine and pregnancy.

The checkable summary

  • Label: 5 g of creatine monohydrate per serving, sole ingredient in the unflavoured powder; 5 g in a 7 g scoop in the flavoured ones.
  • Source: Creapure named in 2017; no source named since 2024.
  • Cost: $0.047–$0.063 per gram for the unflavoured powder on the brand's store on 2026-09-28.
  • Certification: not on NSF's Certified for Sport register; "NSF certified facility" describes the factory, not the product.
  • Testing: "Third party tested" is stated; no certificate or result is published.
  • Warning: a California Proposition 65 lead warning on the powder's page, with no amount stated.

Limits of this analysis

Everything here is what Nutricost and NSF publish, and what the NIH database holds, read on one date. Nothing has been bought or tested in a laboratory for this analysis. Prices are one store's list prices on one day. The NIH database records labels as submitted and may lag the product on the shelf. Search volumes are DataForSEO's clickstream-adjusted US estimates from 2026-09-23.

Sources and dates

  • Nutricost US store product data (nutricost.com/products/<handle>.js) for Creatine Monohydrate Powder, Creatine Monohydrate Capsules, Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) Powder, Creatine Monohydrate with Stevia, Stick Pack Variety, Creatine HCl Powder and Creatine for Women: prices, sizes, stock status and descriptions read 2026-09-28. Store pages "Our Mission & Guarantee" and FAQ read the same day.
  • NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database: 12 Nutricost creatine labels; read in detail 77130 (2017), 319643 (2024), 307782 (2024), 306204 (2024), via API 2026-09-28.
  • NSF Certified for Sport, certified products register, full listing downloaded 2026-09-28; Our Mark, read 2026-09-28.
  • PubChem molar masses: creatine (CID 586), creatine monohydrate (CID 80116), creatine hydrochloride (CID 134732).

Frequently asked questions

Is Nutricost creatine third-party tested?

Its labels say 'Third party tested', and the store describes testing by 'independent ISO-accredited laboratories'. What is not published is the evidence: no certificate of analysis, no laboratory name and no lot-level result appeared on the product pages read on 2026-09-28. The one public, lot-checkable programme in this category, NSF Certified for Sport, lists no Nutricost product.

Is Nutricost creatine NSF certified?

The product is not on NSF's Certified for Sport register, checked on 2026-09-28. What several product descriptions say is that it is made in an 'NSF certified, GMP compliant facility'. That refers to the factory's manufacturing-practice registration. NSF's sport certification also tests the product itself for 290 banned substances, label accuracy and contaminants, and those checks are not implied by the facility wording.

What is in Nutricost creatine monohydrate?

The unflavoured powder declares one ingredient: 5 g of micronized creatine monohydrate per scoop, 100 scoops in 500 g. The flavoured versions use a 7 g scoop carrying the same 5 g of creatine monohydrate plus malic acid, sucralose, natural flavours and, in Blue Raspberry, blue spirulina for colour, which gives 71 servings in a 500 g tub.

Where is Nutricost creatine made?

The labels say it is made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients, and give the company's address in Vineyard, Utah. They do not name the manufacturer of the creatine itself or its country of origin. An older 2017 label named Creapure, a German-made monohydrate; that version is still listed on the store but was out of stock on 2026-09-28.

Why does the Nutricost page have a lead warning?

California's Proposition 65 requires a warning when a product may expose consumers to a listed chemical above a set level, and lead is listed. The warning appears on the monohydrate powder's product page. It does not state how much lead a serving contains, and a warning is not a test result; it is a legal notice that the company has chosen to give.

Does this page compare Nutricost with other creatine brands?

No. It reads Nutricost's own labels, store and claims against the certifier's register and the literature, and states what is printed and what is missing. The same checkable points are set out for other brands in this series, without placing any of them in order.