MuscleLedger

Thorne Creatine: What the Label States, What NSF's Register Shows, and What Neither Says

Thorne's creatine is 5 g of creatine monohydrate a scoop with nothing else in the unflavoured tub. NSF's register lists six Thorne creatine products, lot by lot. The label does not say where the creatine is made, or that it is micronized.

Leon H · Edited by Caroline S · Published 2026-09-24

Illustration: An unbranded tub of creatine on a concrete surface, lit by warm morning light.
Illustration

Thorne's is the most searched of the creatine brands this site has measured — about 71,000 US searches a month for the name alone — and almost every page that ranks for it is a shop, a seller's blog or a list of picks. This page does something narrower. It reads what Thorne publishes about the product, checks the certification against the certifier's own register, prices it at one named store on one date, and states what the label leaves out. Every figure below is from a page opened on 2026-09-24.

What the label states

Seven Thorne creatine products were found on Thorne's own store. Label figures are from each product page's ingredient panel, read 2026-09-24.

Product (Thorne SKU where shown) Serving Creatine per serving Everything else on the label Servings
Creatine, unflavoured (SF903) 1 scoop 5 g creatine monohydrate nothing 90
Creatine, unflavoured (SF904) 1 scoop 5 g nothing 180
Creatine – Travel Packs (SF903P) 1 packet 5 g silicon dioxide 30
Creatine – Strawberry 1 scoop 5 g natural flavour, citric acid, malic acid, rebaudioside M, beet juice powder (colour) 60
Creatine – Pineapple Orange 1 scoop 5 g natural flavours, citric acid, malic acid, turmeric and beet juice powder (colour), rebaudioside M 60
Creatine + Alpha GPC 1 scoop 5 g alpha-GPC 600 mg; maltodextrin, natural flavours, citric acid, malic acid, rebaudioside M, beet juice powder and turmeric 30
Creatine + BCAAs 1 scoop 5 g L-leucine 2.5 g, L-isoleucine 1.25 g, L-valine 1.25 g, L-glutamine 1 g; flavours, acids, sea salt, colours, rebaudioside M, monk fruit extract, sunflower lecithin 30

Two details are worth reading closely. The unflavoured tubs contain one ingredient, which makes the label easy to check against a lab result — there is nothing else to account for. And the creatine dose is the same 5 g in every product; what changes is what is added around it. The 5 g is stated as creatine monohydrate, which is 87.9% creatine by molecular weight — about 4.4 g of creatine itself, the arithmetic set out on types of creatine.

The labels also differ on pregnancy. The unflavoured and fruit-flavoured tubs say "If pregnant, consult your health-care practitioner"; Creatine + Alpha GPC and Creatine + BCAAs say "If pregnant or nursing, do not use this product." The stricter wording appears only on the two combination products, which add alpha-GPC or amino acids to the same 5 g of creatine. What is known about creatine itself in pregnancy is on creatine and pregnancy.

What NSF's register shows

The product page carries the NSF Certified for Sport mark. NSF's own register, searched for Thorne creatine on 2026-09-24, holds seven listings covering six products:

NSF listing Form Package on the listing Serving on the listing Certified lot numbers listed
Thorne Creatine powder, unflavoured 450 g, 900 g 1 scoop (5 g) 65
Thorne Creatine powder, unflavoured 453 g 1 scoop (5 g) 7
Thorne Creatine stick, unflavoured 30 × 5.15 g 1 stick (5.15 g) 15
Thorne Creatine Strawberry powder 372 g 1 scoop (6.2 g) 4
Thorne Creatine Pineapple Orange powder 384 g 1 scoop (6.4 g) 7
Thorne Creatine + Alpha GPC (Watermelon Lemonade) powder 231 g 1 scoop (7.7 g) 4
Thorne Creatine + BCAA (Peach Mango) powder 432 g 1 scoop (14.4 g) 3

(The unflavoured powder appears twice, with different package sizes; both listings are shown.)

The certification is by lot, not by brand. Each listing carries the batch numbers NSF has certified, and a tub's lot number, printed on the container, either appears in that list or it does not. That is the single most useful check a buyer can make, and it is not mentioned on Thorne's product page. Every listing also records "Free of Claims: Gluten", matching the "Gluten Free" line on the product page.

What the mark covers, in NSF's own words on its Our Mark page: the product contains none of 290 substances banned by major athletic organisations; the contents match the label; there are no unsafe levels of contaminants; and the facility is GMP-certified and audited once or twice a year. Thorne's page puts the banned-substance figure at "nearly 300". What it does not cover: whether the product does anything. Certification is a statement about contents and contamination, not about effect, and it says nothing about particle size, raw-material origin or price.

The contamination problem certification exists for is set out, with the 14.8% figure from the one large international test, on is creatine a steroid.

Cost per gram, at one store, on one date

Prices from Thorne's own store, thorne.com, as displayed on 2026-09-24. Other retailers, subscriptions and discounts differ, and prices change; a price with no date is not a fact.

Product Price Creatine monohydrate in the container Per gram Per 5 g serving
Unflavoured, 90 servings $44 450 g $0.098 $0.49
Unflavoured, 180 servings $84 900 g $0.093 $0.47
Travel packs, 30 $36 150 g $0.24 $1.20
Strawberry or Pineapple Orange, 60 $48 300 g $0.16 $0.80
Creatine + Alpha GPC, 30 $49 150 g — (combination) $1.63
Creatine + BCAAs, 30 $52 150 g — (combination) $1.73

The per-gram figures for the combination products are left blank on purpose: the price pays for alpha-GPC or amino acids as well, and dividing it all by the creatine would overstate what the creatine costs.

What the label and the page do not say

  • Where the creatine is made, and by whom. Neither the ingredient panel nor the product page names the raw-material manufacturer or its country. A brand using the German trademarked monohydrate can name it on its label; the trademark and its specification are on Creapure explained. Thorne's label names no source.
  • That it is micronized. The ingredient list says "creatine monohydrate". The word "micronized" appears only in the page's answer about bloating — "the micronized form used by Thorne is designed for easy mixing and absorption" — with no particle size and no study cited. What grinding changes and what it does not is on micronized creatine.
  • Purity or an assay figure. The page says Thorne tests "each ingredient for identity, purity, and potency", but publishes no certificate of analysis or purity percentage for a lot.
  • That creatine is not an amino acid. The page's answer to "Can women take creatine monohydrate?" calls creatine "a naturally occurring amino acid". It is a guanidino compound the body makes from three amino acids — arginine, glycine and methionine — a small error of classification (what is creatine).

What the page's own questions answer, checked

Thorne's product page answers its own frequently asked questions. Read against the literature:

  • Loading. The page says a loading phase "isn't required". That matches the trial record: loading fills muscle in five to six days, and 3 g a day reached similar stores in about 28 days in the Hultman 1996 biopsies (creatine loading phase, how long creatine takes to work).
  • Timing. The page stresses consistency over timing. What the timing trials measured is on creatine timing.
  • Water retention. The page says some people "notice mild water retention in the muscles when they first start". That is the measured pattern — water drawn into muscle with the creatine in the first days (creatine bloating).

The gummy question

About 590 searches a month ask about Thorne creatine gummies. No Thorne creatine gummy was found — not among the seven creatine products on Thorne's store, not at the product address such a page would use (it returned "not found" on 2026-09-24), and not among Thorne's six creatine listings on NSF's register. The format's documented problem, gummies that miss their label claim, is on creatine gummies.

The honest summary

  • Label: one ingredient in the unflavoured tub — 5 g creatine monohydrate a scoop, about 4.4 g of creatine.
  • Certification: six Thorne creatine products (seven listings) on NSF's Certified for Sport register, lot by lot; the unflavoured powder's listing carries 65 lot numbers.
  • Cost: about $0.093–$0.098 a gram unflavoured at Thorne's store on 2026-09-24; $0.24 in travel packs; $0.16 flavoured.
  • Not stated: raw-material origin or manufacturer, particle size, a lot's purity figure.
  • Not on this page: a ranking, a verdict or any claim that we have bought, used or tested the product.

Limits of this page

Everything here is what Thorne and NSF publish, read on one date; neither has been verified by a laboratory for this page. The NSF register is a snapshot and changes as lots are added. Prices are one store's list prices on one day. Search volume is DataForSEO's clickstream-adjusted US estimate from 2026-09-23.

Sources and dates

Frequently asked questions

Is Thorne creatine third-party tested?

Six Thorne creatine products are listed on NSF's Certified for Sport register, checked on 2026-09-24. NSF certification is lot-specific: the listing for the unflavoured powder carries 65 lot numbers, and a tub's lot can be matched against it. What the mark covers — banned substances, label accuracy, contaminants and facility audits — is set out on this page.

What is in Thorne creatine?

The unflavoured powder and the 180-serving tub list one ingredient: creatine monohydrate, 5 g per scoop. The travel stick packs add silicon dioxide (5.15 g per stick). The flavoured versions add natural flavours, citric and malic acid, stevia-derived rebaudioside M and plant colours; Creatine + Alpha GPC adds 600 mg of alpha-GPC and maltodextrin; Creatine + BCAAs adds 2.5 g leucine, 1.25 g isoleucine, 1.25 g valine and 1 g glutamine.

Is Thorne creatine micronized?

Thorne's product page says so in its answer about bloating — 'the micronized form used by Thorne' — but the ingredient list says only 'creatine monohydrate' and no particle size is stated. Micronisation changes how the powder disperses in water, not how much creatine a gram contains; the evidence is on this site's micronized creatine page.

Is Thorne creatine Creapure?

Neither the label nor the product page, read on 2026-09-24, names the creatine's manufacturer or its country of origin. A brand using the Creapure trademark can name it on its label; Thorne's names no source at all.

How much does Thorne creatine cost per gram?

On Thorne's own store on 2026-09-24: $44 for 90 servings (450 g, about $0.098 a gram), $84 for 180 servings (900 g, about $0.093 a gram) and $36 for 30 stick packs (about $0.24 a gram). Flavoured 60-serving tubs were $48, about $0.16 per gram of creatine. Prices at other retailers differ and change.

Is Thorne a good brand of creatine?

This page does not rank brands or give a verdict. What can be checked is set out here: the label lists one ingredient at 5 g a serving, six Thorne creatine products are on NSF's register with lot numbers, and the label does not state where the creatine is made or its particle size. Brands are compared on the same checkable points on this site's other creatine brand analyses.